Illect Recordings: Mind the Rap Vol. 4

Download Mind the Rap Vol. 4

There is an old African proverb currently doing the rounds on the socials. It states that “if you want to go fast, go alone, if you want to go far, go together”. Translation: no man is an island, and it’s not a bad idea to have a crew.

Illect Recordings are playing no games for 2019, and the cavalry is coming out in full force for their Mind The Rap Vol. 4 (MTR4) compilation project. The unseen bawse of Illect threw up the equivalent of the bat signal real quick and assembled his all-star roster of producers and emcees to bring their best work to the table.

Think of it as a fruit salad. There were mad different flavors to choose from. There were some apparent combinations and some not so obvious, but the sound and synergy on this sprawling compilation blend seamlessly. The roll call is thick, so there’s no need to say names. There’s no ‘i’ in team, but there is one in ‘ill’, and that’s what this collection is. Whether you’re a day one disciple or a late invite to the party, MTR4 is a brief yet detailed snapshot of Illect’s past and an exciting glimpse of what is yet to come.

Mind The Rap Vol. 4 is out now on Illect Recordings.

Written by Christopher Mitchell for Breaking Atoms

Armond WakeUp, Change, Chris Orrick, Datin, Die-Rek, DJ Kair One, DJ Sean P, Dres (Evitan / Black Sheep), Ess Be, Finale, Freddie Joachim, Imperial, James Gardin, Jarobi (Evitan / A Tribe Called Quest), Jered Sanders, Jurny Big (The Battery / LPG / Tunnel Rats), K.I.N.E.T.I.K., Krum, Lightheaded (Ozay Moore, Ohmega Watts, Braille), Midcentury Modern, Ozay Moore, Raging Moses, Rheomatic, Ricky Valenz, Sadat X (Brand Nubian), Sareem Poems, Sebastian Hochstein, Sintax the Terrific, Sivion, Sojourn, SoulSeize, Stefan Otto, Stro Elliot (The Roots), Sundance, Tee-Wyla, Terem, Wes Pendleton

Beat production
Die-Rek, Ess Be, Freddie Joachim, Imperial, J. Rhodan, Raging Moses, Rheomatic, Sebastian Hochstein, SoulSeize, Stro Elliot, Sundance, Tee-Wyla, Terem, Wes Pendleton

Mind the Rap Vol. 4 track list

  1. Ozay Moore – Crowd React by Lightheaded (Ozay Moore, Ohmega Watts & Braille)
  2. Sareem Poems & Terem – Breathe (feat. Red Pill)
  3. James Gardin – Promise Land (produced by Terem)
  4. Raging Moses – Feeling Like A G
  5. Tee-Wyla – I Got The Spirit (feat. Datin, Raging Moses, Stefan Otto & Jered Sanders)
  6. Armond WakeUp – Sweeter
  7. Sivion – Really His (feat. Krum)
  8. Imperial – Know The Call (feat. Sareem Poems & Sojourn)
  9. Die-Rek – The Name Is Die-Rek
  10. Midcentury Modern – Mad Men (feat. Evitan [Dres of Black Sheep & Jarobi of ATCQ])
  11. Change – Intergalactic (feat. Raging Moses)
  12. Sebastian Hochstein – Flowers (feat. Sadat X, Jurny Big, DJ Kair One)
  13. Ozay Moore – Doin It
  14. Imperial & K.I.N.E.T.I.K. – Fresh (feat. James Gardin)
  15. Armond WakeUp – The Feels
  16. Ozay Moore – Transparent See (feat. Ricky Valenz)
  17. Sundance – The Last Sunrise (feat. Adam L)
  18. Sareem Poems & Ess Be – Shallow (feat. Finale)
  19. James Gardin – Victorious

Volumes 1-3 are also available for Free Download on Bandcamp.

Download: Volume 1, Volume 2, Volume 3, Volume 4.